The Berenstain Bears 5-Minute Inspirational Stories

The Berenstain Bears 5-Minute Inspirational Stories: Read-Along Classics (Berenstain Bears/Living Lights)Title: The Berenstain Bears 5-Minute Inspirational Stories
Authors and Illustrators: Stan and Jan Berenstain with Mike Berenstain
Publisher: Zonderkidz
ISBN: 978-0-310-76080-1

“Whether it’s bedtime, lap time, or just 5-minutes of story time, readers will love seeing the Bear cubs in action,” the back jacket states in Stan, Jan, and Mike Berenstain’s book, The Berenstain Bear 5-Minute Inspirational Stories.

~ What ~
Part of the Berenstain Bears / Living Lights series, this numbered one-hundred-and-ninety-two-page hardbound targets child four to eight years old, especially those that like short stories of the well-known family of bears. With no profanity or scary scenes, the story has colorful, expressive illustrations on every page. Due to some complicated wording, it would best be read out loud to beginner readers.

While most of the series are individual paperback books, this one contains a dozen stories focusing on teaching children how God wants them to live every day. The bear tales included are Loves You, Say Their Prayers, Love Their Neighbors, Faithful Friends, The Forgiving Tree, Biggest Brag, Gift of Courage, Blessed are the Peacemakers, Get Involved, Gossip Gang, God Bless Our Home, and Here’s the Church, Here’s the Steeple.

~ Why ~
This is a nice collection of books as it hones in on explaining different aspects of living life according to God’s way. Several of the stories focus on how to be nicer, kinder, and better to others instead of focusing on oneself. The illustrations are descriptive and interesting for the age group.

~ Why Not ~
Because most of these books were originally written decades ago, they are dated and old-fashioned so may work well for home-schoolers or those children who enjoy reading. Some may find a couple of the stories a little degrading initially based on the bears’ conversations. All have a similar pattern of the bears facing an issue and learning to deal with it, which may tire some readers.

~ Who ~
Since Stan and Jan passed away years ago, their son Mike continues to follow in his parents’ footsteps with the Berenstain Bear series and products. He lives in Pennsylvania.

~ Wish ~
I wish there were Bible verses included somehow in the stories.

~ Want ~
If you or your child like the Berenstain Bears series, this collection will be cherished for years.

Thanks to Z-Blog Squad for providing this book for reading and reviewing.

Grammarly was used to check for errors in this review.



Leave a comment

Filed under **** Good - Will Be Glad to Pass On to Others, Book Review, Childrens, Christian

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s