The Berenstain Bears Friendship Blessings Collection

The Berenstain Bears Friendship Blessings Collection (Berenstain Bears/Living Lights)Title: The Berenstain Bears Friendship Blessings Collection
Authors and Illustrators: Jan & Mike Berenstain
Publisher: Zonderkidz
ISBN: 978-0-310-75338-4

“God made all of us special,” Mama reminds the bears in one of the stories of Jan and Mike Berenstain’s book, The Berenstain Bears Friendship Blessings Collection.

~ What ~
Part of the Berenstain Bears / Living Lights series, this numbered one-hundred-sixty-page hardbound targets child four to eight years old, especially those that like short stories of the well-known family of bears. With no profanity or scary scenes, the story has colorful, expressive illustrations on every page. Due to some complicated wording, it would best be read out loud to beginner readers.

While most of the series are individual paperback books, this one contains five stories focusing on teaching children how God wants them to treat others. The tales included are Perfect Fishing Spot, Reap the Harvest, Faithful Friends, Kindness Counts, and God Made Your Special.

~ Why ~
This is a caring collection of stories of Papa finding a place to fish, learning to work and receive the benefits, having best friends, being kind and helpful to others, and loving those who are different than us. I like that the last three stories each end with three discussion questions and two to three activities related to its theme. While mentioning God, the stories are not preachy or pushy and most start with a written out Bible verse.

~ Why Not ~
Some may not like the references to God, but all of these books honor the Almighty. With the book not having a table of contents, it is hard to go to a particular story (a blank colored page separates each one). Because of this, some may not realize there are additional pages at the back of the some of the books to simulate conversation further.

~ Who ~
Since Stan and Jan passed away years ago, their son Mike continues to follow in his parents’ footsteps with the Berenstain Bear series and products. He lives in Pennsylvania.

~ Wish ~
I wish the book had a table of contents to make it easier on the parent reading, knowing how many pages each story is in advance.

~ Want ~
If you like the Berenstain Bears series, this one will make a thoughtful collector’s series of five books in a hardbound format.

Thanks to Z-Blog Squad for the complimentary book that I am freely evaluating.

Grammarly was used to check for errors in this review.



Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s